Visualising Word Relations

When I got a smart phone, one of the first apps I installed – after the all important games and chat programmes – is the dictionary app. Years of being an ESL student, I can’t shake the habit of having it close by. Even now I still have 4 dictionaries and 1 thesaurus on the shelve above my desk. So of course I just have to install it on my phone. It won’t be my phone otherwise 😉

It’s very handy having a dictionary on your phone. Anytime I came across a new word I could just type it up and there you have it.  I used to also install thesaurus, synonym game, etc but since my newest phone has less storage space than the old one I had to streamline and just have the one dictionary since it also has the synonym and antonym feature on it.

Now that I am venturing back towards blogging, I started looking words up on a new tab instead of on my phone and I noticed a new feature, particularly when looking up synonyms; word visualisation!

It started pretty normal, you type the word you’re looking, press enter and it’ll spew the answers. But, as a scroll down, it now gives a visual description how closely those other words are related to the one I’m looking at. Like this:

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 10.13.33 PM

This is so COOL!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s very geeky I know. but hey, I’m a student of words. I used to live and breathe words throughout my student years. I get excited to see these things 😀

Now, it is not the most fascinating thing you see? I wish they had this feature back then as it would definitely make these words easier to understand. But you know, you never stop learning even if you’re out of school and have been for a looong time like me. Better now than never eh?

Screen Shot 2014-01-09 at 10.15.18 PM

The Synonym dance notation

Leave a Reply

