of classes, prep time, etc

I knew I’ve been lax with post-a-week thing. Just didn’t realise how severe the laziness was until I look at the number of entries. Less than 4 entries for the whole of August!!! Now that is quite serious fall from the wagon so to speak πŸ˜‰

Not sure what hit me last month. Hormones gone a bit haywire, was holding a slight grudge and couldn’t quite shake it off. Bad me. Don’t copy it people. Then again I did have, for the first time, 3 different classes in the same semester. I have held few classes in a week but it usually were the same subject so I just need to do 1 prep for them. Now I need to do 3 different set of prep because they are different with different kids. And boy, that takes a lot of time. I just wanna zonked out once work is done. Didn’t really feel like writing anything else, especially after marking papers. I do need to sort out my time better though because the director just told me that I may have the same schedule for next semester. Eek!

However, now that this semester is winding down I think I finally got the hang of it. Earlier I always feel like I’m playing catch up with the classes. No sooner than one prep is done, the next one already waiting to be done with no rest in between. I probably said it before but I really have a higher appreciation for my high school teachers now. Not only do they have to teach everyday but at different levels as well. They really need to be paid much much better than what they are now. Sad how some people think teacher’s salary don’t matter. Anyway, that’s a topic on its own which I really don’t want to get into right now.

Of my tons of readers, if any of you are teachers, care to share any time management tips? I’d love to learn from your experience and would welcome any tips to be a better, more productive teacher πŸ™‚

Have a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “of classes, prep time, etc

  1. Teaching is just hard. Doing it well takes a lot of time – planning, organizing, etc! My only tip is that I would carry the “bag of guilt” home and back a lot – with these grandiose plans of what I would get done in the evening in terms of grading, planning, etc. Completely unrealistic. Looking back, a lot of the distress came from thinking about what I wasn’t getting done. I think if I were to do it over I would be more realistic about what could be accomplished in an evening and only bring that home. Maybe that would have helped?
    Of course, I can apply that to my life now as well! πŸ™‚
    Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

