Moving Day

Moving is always chaotic no matter how small or how big the move is. Even though you’re prepared as much as you can before hand there’s always last-minute things to be packed, last-minute things to take care of. If like me you’re doing in on the budget, you hire bodies to help you. Not movers, not those efficient people who make moving effortless, but bodies you command to carry heavy stuff for you.

As it is we were helped by our domestic crew; the cook, the maid and the driver goes to a bar… eh no, though it does sound like the beginning of a joke doesn’t? Then my hubby called his cousin, hire 3 extra people to help with the moving. With 6 people you think it’ll go fast, but noo… again, doing in on budget we manage to rent a truck virtually free. Then the truck came. Our SUV is probably bigger than that. It’s so tiny it’s the art truck – the vehicle I used to rent for the art dept in productions. So it came in many loads and one day was not enough even though we started from the morning.

To my husband’s credit, he was a real trooper. I was exhausted around noon, and when 3 pm rolls by I was a mush. He kindly told me to just take a nap and don’t worry about it. Love you so much babe! So I did. When I woke up I realise that he had managed to move most of our belongings. but where is our bed?

I went downstairs and there was the bed. They couldn’t move it upstairs. All of them racked their tired brains and the way the house is constructed the only way to get in the bed was to take out a long side window. The stairs were too narrow to make it though and they couldn’t pull it in from the balcony like they do in downtown Amsterdam. Of the two kids’ room, my son’s room were the neatest (meaning not so many boxes were in there) I proceed to hunt down 2 clean sheets, made the bed, sweep the room, generally tried to make it clean and comfy for the night. Thank God our children were staying over with their cousins so they don’t have to sleep in the mess.

Around 6pm we called it a day. Took shower, grab dinner, then went home. How nice that sounds, went home. To our own home. But of course that’s not the end. As I was getting ready for bed, I heard hubby was moving stuff around. I thought, oh give it a rest babe, we can continue tomorrow. But then… Voila! turned out he was installing the tv. Look, he said, we can watched TV! I had to laugh. The man loves his tv. Bless his heart. Thus ends a very tiring day 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

